Daily Reverie

It's just me…

From Dead Ends to New Doors December 6, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Lauren @ 8:47 AM
Tags: , , , ,

I’m sitting here, with my grandparents watching Julie and Julia. You know the movie about how Julia Child got her start, and Julia Powell-the once secretary, now famous blogger and writer? While it’s very entertaining, I find I am gleaning new inspiration from it.

Here’s why. I feel as though by some divinely placed inspiration from God or Fate, whatever it is that you choose to believe in, that my friend Daniel and I met each other at just the right time in both of our lives. I moved back to California in May, utterly frustrated with my life. Approaching the fourth year of college at my fourth college and about to turn twenty-one and feeling as though I had in someway hit a dead end, because everything that I had planned for my life, just wasn’t coming to fruition. I didn’t know what I wanted to do. Having met Daniel, via my mother (he’s the son of my mom’s boss), because I had decided I wanted to run a marathon, and he being a personal trainer.

I don’t think either of us were prepared for the adventure that we were going to embark on a couple months later. I had recently become very passionate about fighting Human Trafficking, especially in the U.S. So much so, that I decided to change me major AGAIN, to Criminal Justice with the goal of eventually joining the FBI. Daniel, having just changed his major to Government and having done his fair share of college hopping as well. The only thing we both knew was that we both have always wanted to make an impact…somehow. And that’s how it all started..in a way. Actually, to be more accurate, it started with someone telling me that I should run for a cause for my marathon. So, of course I chose to run for Human Trafficking. Through various random conversations, Daniel and I decided to start a foundation. A non-profit organization, to fight for social justice in Northern California to be more exact.

It’s crazy. WE are crazy. We are a 21 and 24 year old with absolutely NO freaking business experience, starting a non-profit organization. We are learning how to create business plans, write by laws, network. We are meeting with FBI agents and hopefully the mayor of  Sac and a bunch of other people that I never dreamed I would ever have the opportunity to meet. Our first endeavor is going to be using the marathon that  I am going to run in July. We are going to utilize that to raise money and promote awareness for Human Trafficking, and hopefully even work directly with the FBI and Sacramento PD to start the long, difficult process of putting an end to Human Trafficking in Sacramento.

As the movie “Julie and Julia” so eloquently states, “Julia Child, wasn’t always Julia Child.” She was once a house wife who had moved to Paris with her husband, and needed something to do. Daniel and I are just two college students who found inspiration and direction through our friendship to actually make the impact that we had both always wanted to make. We still have a long way to go, but it’s going to be an adventure.

 

Leave a Reply

